POMEPS Community Takes Home APSA Awards

POMEPS is proud to announce that several POMEPS community members were honored for recent book and article publications at the American Political Science Association’s 2014 Annual Meeting. 

Politics and History: Best Article

Lisa Blaydes, Stanford University (Annual Conference participant)

Single-authored or co-authored articles focusing directly on the subject of democratization published in 2013.
Title: “The Feudal Revolution and Europe’s Rise: Political Divergence of the Christian West and the Muslim World before 1500 CE.” American Political Science Review, February 2013

Qualitative and Multi-Method Research: APSR Submission Award and Political Networks: Political Ties Award

Sarah E. Parkinson, University of Minnesota (Junior Scholars Book Development Workshop participant, 2013 and TRE grantee, 2014)

The APSR Submission Award recognizes the best qualitative manuscript submitted to the American Political Science Review in the previous calendar year.
Title: “Organizing Rebellion: Rethinking High-Risk Mobilization and Social Networks in War.” American Political Science Review, 107(3) August 2013: 418-432

The Political Ties award is given on a biennial basis to the best article published on political networks.
Title: “Organizing Rebellion: Rethinking High-Risk Mobilization and Social Networks in War,” American Political Science Review, 107: 418-432

International History and Politics: Jervis and Schroeder Best Book Award

Adria Lawrence, Yale University (TRE grantee, 2011 and Annual Conference participant)

This award may be granted to a single-authored or multi-authored book, or to an edited volume. The award will be given to works published in the calendar year prior to the year of the APSA meeting at which the award is presented. The copyright date of a book will establish the relevant year.
Title: Imperial Rule and the Politics of Nationalism: Anti-Colonial Protest in the French Empire. Cambridge University Press, 2013

Interpretive Methodologies and Methods Conference Group: Charles Taylor Best Book Award 

Paul Amar, University of California, Santa Barbara (Lecture series participant, 2014)

The award is given to a book exploring any aspect of political life that either engages interpretive methodological issues or that reports the results of empirical research conducted using interpretive research methods.
Title: The Security Archipelago: Human-Security States, Sexuality Politics, and the End of Neoliberalism, Duke University Press, 2013

Comparative Democratization: Best Fieldwork Honorable Mention

Calvert Jones, Yale University (Junior Scholars Book Development Workshop participant, 2013)

This prize rewards dissertation students who conduct especially innovative and difficult fieldwork. Scholars who are currently writing their dissertations or who complete their dissertations in 2013 are eligible.

GESIS Klingemann Prize for the Best CSES Scholarship

Dalia F. Fahmy, Long Island University (with Richard R. Lau, Rutgers University and Parina Patel, Georgetown University)

For the best Comparative Study of Electoral Systems (CSES) scholarship (paper, book, dissertation, or other scholarly work, broadly defined) published or finalized in the calendar year prior to the award.
Title “Correct Voting Across Thirty-Three Democracies: A Preliminary Analysis.” British Journal of Political Science, 44, April 2014: 239-259

Law and Courts: Best Journal Article Award

Tamir Moustafa, Simon Fraser University (Middle East Channel contributor)

This award recognizes the best journal article in the field of law and courts written by a political scientist and published during the previous calendar year.
Title: “Islamic Law, Women’s Rights, and Popular Legal Consciousness in Malaysia.” 38 Law and Social Inquiry 168 (2013)


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.